After a lifetime pursuing the creation of fantastic music and bringing it to their fans in person, The Veldt presents what their much-anticipated live session at Seattle’s KEXP, hosted by Larry Mizell, Jr. Filmed in December 2024, this was the final stop on their recent West coast tour.

On the trail of their ‘Illuminated 1989’ album, recently released via Little Cloud Records and 5BC Records, The Veldt’s core members of Daniel Chavis (vocals, guitar), Danny Chavis (lead guitar) and Hayato Nakao (guitar) are joined here by Alex Cox (bass), LG Galleon (guitar), Martin Neuman (guitar) and Dale Miller (drums).

Formed in North Carolina in the 1980s, their heady and sensual blend of shoegaze and progressive soul, dreamy soundscapes and infectious grooves makes them stand out among the world’s most notable first-wave shoegaze bands. Here at KEXP, they perform five tracks that exemplify their extraordinary sound: ‘The Everlasting Gobstopper’, ‘Aurora Borealis’, ‘In A Quiet Room’, ‘Forever Green’ and ‘Joi’.

‘Illuminated 1989′ album is the original 1989 full-length record produced by Cocteau Twins’ Robin Guthrie, who also remastered this album for vinyl. Originally intended to be the band’s first album, their label Capitol Records shelved the recording and sent them back into the studio with producer Lincoln Fong (Moose, Piroshka), resulting in their first album released with the title ‘Marigolds’.

Surrounding the album,The Veldt shared videos for ‘Angel Heart’, ‘The Everlasting Gobstopper’ and ‘Shallow by Shallow’, featuring footage filmed live at the Ritz in NYC by Simon Raymonde of Cocteau Twins (The Veldt had been opening for them). Most recently, they shared the seductive ‘Aurora Borealis Remix’ – the B-side to their ‘Aurora Borealis’ 7″ single, featuring Elizabeth Fraser cameo on backing vocals.

Pitchfork included The Veldt’s album ‘Afrodisiac’, produced by the legendary Ray Shulman (The Sundays, Bjork, The Sugarcubes) in the top 50 shoegaze albums ever released, while Stereogum included ‘Until You’re Forever’ in the top 31 shoegaze tracks. Their sound also inspired future generations of alternative artists, including TV On the Radio.

The Veldt’s journey is fascinating. Performing since they were children, the Chavis brothers’ musical roots lead back to the church and southern juke-joints, and listening to music that included gospel, Motown and Pink Floyd. The Veldt formed in the late 80’s in Raleigh amongst the legendary North Carolina music scene of the time, initially signing with Mammoth Records – leading to a chain of major-label relationships that took the group across Europe and the U.S. playing shows with the likes of Throwing Muses, Pixies, Cocteau Twins and Jesus & Mary Chain.

After moving from Raleigh to New York, they briefly performed as Apollo Heights before returning to their original name The Veldt. Other notable releases include ‘The Shocking Fuzz Of Your Electric Fur’ EP (2017) and the album ‘Entropy is the Mainline to God’ (2022).

Over the years, The Veldt has collaborated with TV On The Radio, Mos Def, Lady Miss Kier (Deee-Lite), A.R.Kane and toured or played with Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Pixies, Throwing Muses, Echo & The Bunnymen, Cocteau Twins, Manic Street Preachers, Phantogram, Modern English, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Oasis, Chuck D, Living Colour and Schooly D.

The ‘Illuminated 1989’ album is out now on limited edition translucent pink or clear vinyl with a gatefold sleeve. It is also available from fine digital platforms, including Apple Music, Spotify and Bandcamp.

‘Illuminated 1989’ released via Little Cloud Records and 5BC Records
Danny Chavis – guitar
Daniel Chavis – vocals, guitar, lyrics
Marvin Levi – drums
Joseph Hue Boyle – bass
Elizabeth Fraser – additional vocals
Robin Guthrie – programming, additional guitars
Lincoln Fong – programming
Written by Danny and Daniel Chavis
Recorded and produced at September Sound by Robin Guthrie
Publicity by Shameless Promotion PR

01 . Aurora Borealis
02 . C.C.C.P
03 . It’s Over
04 . Shallow By Shallow
05 . Pleasure Toy
06 . Angel Heart
07 . Willow Tree
08 . Git Up
09 . Heather
10 . Daisy Chain
11 . The Everlasting Gobstopper