Defying was formed in 2008. Within 15 years of existing they released two records: “Nexus Artificial” (2014, LP) and “The Splinter of Light We Misread” (2016, EP) which include Joy Division “New Dawn Fades” cover. They combine a variety of genres in their music: post- and progressive metal with sludge, black metal and elements or ambient.

Right now Defying is preparing for releasing new studio album titled “Wadera”. Music was recorded & produced by Tomasz Semeniuk in 2022. All was mixed & mastered by Filip Hałucha at Heinrich House Studio (Azarath, Behemoth, Entropia, Obscure Sphinx). Cover artwork was done by Paweł Siemaszko. Two guests appeared on the album:
•Tymon Urbańczyk – ambient music in “…miast cichać szemrają…”,
“The Acquaintance Shade” and “The Lurking Spectres”
•Natalia Semeniuk – vocals in “Tempus Infaustum” and “Quietus”

“Wadera” is a concept album inspired by the Polish horror film “The Wolf” (1983) and the short story “Wadera” (1977) by Jerzy Gierałtowski. The album is a musical story about revenge from beyond the grave, told in the spirit of dark romanticism.

Band comments: “The word wadera comes from hunting vocabulary and means a female wolf. In order to achieve a 19th century atmosphere, the album was captured with traditional equipment and microphones – without the use of any plugins or samples during recording. We also utilized more than a hundred-year-old instruments, such as zither or hunting horn. The goal was to make “Wadera” sound like an old film tape.”

Album “Wadera” will be released February 23, 2024 digitally (pre-save) and on CD by Italian label These Hands Melt.

1 . Tempus Infaustum
2 . …miast cichać szemrają…
3 . The Fugue
4 . Incomprehensibly Woken
5 . The Acquaintance Shade
6 . The Lurking Spectres
7 . Cremaberis Igne AeternoI
8 . Reluctant To The Grave
9 . Misbegotten
10 . Quietus

Piotr Stępiński – guitars, vocals
Szymon Stadniczenko – guitars, clean vocals
Paweł Siemaszko – bass guitar, vocals (backing)
Tomasz Semeniuk – drums, programming