Swedish post-punk outfit Then Comes Silence has unleashed their new single ‘Ride or Die’, along with an adrenaline-filled trip of a video, co-directed by Gözde Duzer. The first taste of their seventh album ‘Trickery’, forthcoming via Metropolis Records, it has already reached #3 in Germany’s authoritative DAC Charts.

Hailing from Stockholm, Then Comes Silence was founded by Alex Svenson in 2012, originally inspired by frequent touring with A Place To Bury Strangers and an attraction to horror and the occult. Today he is joined by drummer Jonas Fransson and Hugo Zombie (Los Carniceros del Norte) on guitar.

This album celebrates friendship, unity and the feeling of belonging to a group, a tribe. Being a part of what most people would call the goth and post-punk community is, according to the band, a great privilege. Of course, there are dark sides to everything, but after being on the road and meeting people from the music scene for so many years, the band have experienced a caring and welcoming community.

“No one is free from apprehension and fear. Everyone feels some kind of alienation in certain degrees. You might often think you need to camouflage yourself to be part of a context. Make a change to fit in the group. The need for friendship is strong so you adapt. Maybe not always the way you hoped. But then… there are moments when we unite and harmonize with other people and feel an incredible community together. That feeling is priceless and a blessing. Friendship is love. It is important and worth fighting for,” says Alex Svenson.

Recorded by Jörgen Wall (Jay-Jay Johanson, The Hellacopters) over three days at Stockholm’s Kapsylen Studio and mixed by Tom van Heesch (Rammstein, Apocalyptica, Backyard Babies), this album was mastered by Svante Forsbäck / Chartmakers (Rammstein, Amaranthe, Ville Valo, The Rasmus, Apocalyptica).

Following up their 2022 album ‘Hunger’, released via Nexilis Records / Schubert Music (Europe) and Metropolis Records (North America), these sessions capture the heart and essence of alternative rock. With electronic elements essential to the new recordings, ‘Trickery’ is also a salute to punk music, to which Then Comes Silence traces their roots.

After debuting with their eponymous album in 2012, Then Comes Silence put out two more albums before releasing ‘Blood’ via Nuclear Blast in 2016. Their subsequent ‘Machine’ album was jointly released via Oblivion/SPV and Metropolis Records in 2020.

Then Comes Silence has toured and played live with The Fields of the Nephilim, The Chameleons, A Place To Bury Strangers, The Bellwether Syndicate and Vision Video, as well as performing at Wave Gotik Treffen, M’era Luna, Amphi Festival, Castle Party and W-Festival.

‘Ride or Die’ is out now everywhere, including Apple Music, Spotify and Bandcamp. On April 5, the ‘Trickery’ album will be released on vinyl and CD, as well as digitally. Then Comes Silence will be touring North America extensively with Vision Video from late April through May.

Music & Lyrics by Alex Svenson
Published by HaHa Musikförlag
Alex Svenson – vocals, bass, synthesizer
Jonas Fransson – drums
Hugo Zombie – guitar
Video directed by Gözde Duzer & Then Comes Silence
Starring Johnny Nattsjö as Nebelmeer on synthesizer,
Bengii, Lord Of All Possible Pain and Mischief, and El Pseudo as themselves
From ‘Trickery’ album, released via Metropolis Records
Publicity by Shameless Promotion PR