Manchester art-rock quartet Weimar have released their debut album ‘Dancing On a Volcano’ digitally via German Shepherd Records and on CD via Marlene’s Hat Records. These 12 tracks take the listener on an unpredictable excursion through the socio-political and personal challenges of our modern age.

Themes include gentrification and cultural erosion, unsavoury characters masquerading as respectable public figures, the grit beneath the glamour, the contrast between polished façades and the decadence within. Through a maelstrom of musical styles and influences, this album paints a brutal and honest picture of human nature and culture in the 2020s.

With recording delayed by the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic in March 2020, the groundwork for the album was finally completed in the summer, the band returning to the studio in 2021 to assist with the mixing process. After three years of hard labour and lockdown-related setback, Weimar are finally ready to release their long-awaited album.

The first taste of the album was ‘Soho Rain’ featuring Leeds-based artist Finola, which is dedicated to the old Soho district of London (the city’s seediest square mile), its dying culture and the many artistic and cultural movements that emerged there. Earlier this year, the band also released the 2-track single ‘The Girls of LA’ with New Order-esque B-side ‘Transatlantic Confusion’.

Weimar (pronounced Vy-marr) is a four-piece made up of vocalist/ guitarist / songwriter Aidan Cross (The Bacillus, Black Light Mutants), bassist John Armstrong (The Speed Of Sound), drummer Anthony ‘Eddy’ Edwards (The Deceased) and guitarist Stephen Sarsen (Frank Is Dead, Playground).

Embracing post-punk to no wave, cabaret, psychedelia, alternative folk and gothic rock, all blended in a distinctive fusion, this album was produced by Adam Crossley and Chris Guest of Vibratone Sound Studio. The cover art was created by acclaimed artist and writer Brian Gorman.

Since forming in 2016 and hitting the live circuit, Louder Than War named Weimar amongst its 50 Bands To Watch for 2019, the year they debuted the single ‘John Doe / Curse the Songs’, followed by ‘Marvel To The State / Undesirable Master’. Having worked with legendary post-punk producer Simon ‘Ding’ Archer, they’ve also played with Tom Hingley (Inspiral Carpets) and goth legends Skeletal Family.

As of June 24th, ‘Dancing On A Volcano’ LP will be available everywhere, including Spotify, Apple Music and Bandcamp. It can also be ordered on CD directly from the band.

Written by John Armstrong, Aidan Cross, Anthony Edwards, Stephen Sarsen, Johann Kloos
Produced, mixed & mastered by Adam Crossley and Chris Guest
Recorded at Vibratone Sound Studio, Manchester
Cover Art by Brian Gorman
John Armstrong – Bass
Aidan Cross – Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Anthony ‘Eddy’ Edwards – Drums
Johann Kloos – Lead Guitar
Bob Dinn – Trumpet and flugelhorn (‘The Sociopath’)
Finola – Saxophone (‘Soho Rain’, ‘Polished Decay’, ‘Hunter’s Moon’)
Chris Guest – Keyboards (‘Soho Rain’, ‘Faded Queen Of The Night’)
Loop-Aznavour – Theremin (‘I Smashed The Looking Glass’)
Susan O’Shea – Keyboards (‘The Hangers-On’)

2.Soho Rain
3.The Sociopath
4.I Smashed The Looking Glass
5.The Hangers-On
6.Arandora Star
7.Polished Decay
8.Hunter’s Moon
9.Faded Queen Of The Night
10.Nights In Spanish Harlem
11.Heaven On High Street East
12.The Tatterdemalions

‘Dancing On A Volcano’ CD order