AVGMNT (pronounced augment) the dystopian cyberpunk themed brainchild of ΩZ (Zach Wager) and αn (Fernando Ruiz) have released their single SOMATOSE”. The industrial duo are preparing to showcase their debut full-length, SEQVENCES, due out April 21st, 2023.

The band comments about “SOMATOSE”: “What do we experience in our time of dying? Is it a void, do we drift through space, do we travel between dimensions? In this our protagonist exists in a drug induced coma as his body slowly shuts down. His brain dumping chemicals inducing strong hallucinations of floating aimlessly through the vastness of space. We really wanted to bounce between dense low tonal trap beats during the verses and open wide guitar/synths during choruses/breaks to give that feeling of confusion and disorientation.”

Commenting on the album, AVGMNT offers: “Our debut album – SEQVENCES – introduces and explores the fictional city of Hexatroplis 2.0 through a loose narrative. It was important for us to really establish a voice without limiting ourselves stylistically but maintain cohesion. We felt by having this strong foundation, it gave us the freedom to still be thematic. The state of our current dysfunctionally dystopian world was the biggest point of inspiration – just injected with a little (but not much) sci-fi flair. A global pandemic and the resulting response can really force some hard re-evaluations about society as a whole. We wanted to balance the idea of dense audio claustrophobia to bouts of aggression mixed with rich spatial layering. We hope people enjoy the ride through the layers of neon haze into sordid city streets. Welcome to the world of AVGMNT.”

While AVGMNT’s roots and wires can be traced to distant dystopian times and places, the project is thoroughly caked in the grime of the present. No longer is science and dystopia merely a work of fiction, but coming to fruition before our eyes. The opening track “Horizon Sequence” is a swirling meditation that advances like an oncoming storm. Moving forward into “Copy ” the album slowly builds neon lit streets, with back alley whispers under prying eyes of machines that watch your every move. Album highlight “Somatose” pushes forward the urgency of the album. Wrapping on “Pvre Black”, the album ends on a defiant and triumphant note.

Decrypt the desolate and get lost in the infectious and connective notes of AVGMNT.

Zach Wager (OmegaZ/ΩZ) – Main Vocals, Programming, Synths
Fernando Ruiz (alphaN/αn) – Backup Vocals, Programming, Synths, Guitars, Engineer