Gutricyde was initially brought to life by Bret Smith, an original member of the 90’s era Texas Death Metal band: Embalmed. Starting out as a one-man Death Metal Project in 2019, the project has evolved.

As of 2022 with a recent lineup change, Gutricyde is currently a 4-piece group consisting of Bret Smith on guitar, vocals and programing, Lance White, formerly of Gruesome Fate and Blast Wound on guitar and vocals, Dave Tillery formerly of Embalmed, Gruesome Fate and an active front man for comorbidity, as well as stage theatrics mascot Ray “Gutty” Mora (A.K.A – The Butcher). Converting a bedroom into a small recording studio in Fate, Texas, the writing process began to flow.

Once a good foundation was built along with some of the first demo tracks released in January 2021, the project gained the attention from some local promoters through social media, and they started getting offers to open some shows. Through 2021 Gutricyde has written 13 new tracks, 11 of which are featured on a full-length EP self-titled “Gutricyde”, released on Corpse Gristle Records in February of 2022.

In January of 2022, GUTRICYDE had a promising lineup change, bringing in Dave Tillery of Comorbidity and Embalmed on bass and moving Lance White to guitar. This was a welcomed change and has made a tremendous improvement on the band’s efficiency and quality.