Chicago-based artist Evidence of a Struggle presents a new audio-visual experience for the latest single ‘Seize’. This follows up ‘Keep It’, the only song on the album featuring vocals in a wonderful spoken-word meets post-rock clash. His debut record, this 13-track collection takes the listener on a great instrumental journey, blending numerous sub-genres spanning the art rock and alternative music realm.

Surrounding the musings of multi-instrumentalist William P C Simmons V a.k.a. Rev. Billy Simmons, Evidence of a Struggle creates lush, cinematic, beautiful and sometimes chaotic compositions. While music thrives at night, other affairs rule his days. Rev. Billy owns and runs Rev. Billy’s Chop Shop, a salon that is also an inclusive, creative space, hosting new artists’ work bimonthly (and declared by Chicago Reader as the city’s best gallery in 2019).

“Seize is the final song and animated video from Evidence of a Struggle’s eponymous release from June 2023. It is a short of all seven videos made by artist John Airo from the 13-song instrumental album. Stay tuned for more from Evidence of a Struggle in 2024 and 2025 we have so much more for you to see and hear,” says Rev Billy.

Launched in 2020, this ambitious debut album sees Rev. Billy play every instrument – guitar, drums, piano, synth and violin – recorded and engineered from his home studio, The Glue Factory. Once Covid restrictions were lifted, renowned sound engineer Sanford Parker (Voivod, Russian Circles, Yob, Eyehategod, Wovenhand, Darkthrone) helped produce, record and master the final versions of these songs.

Earlier, Rev. Billy collaborated with RCA artist Ké and artists on major labels RCA, Touch and Go, BMG and Universal. Evidence of a Struggle’s next album involves collaborations with a wider circle of artists, including drummer Matt Walker (of1000faces, Smashing Pumpkins, Morrissey, Garbage, Filter) and bassist Alan Berliant (Chris Connelly, Mavis Staples, Saint Asonia), in addition to production support from Solomon Walker (Morrissey, Bryan Adams, Eastern Shadows, Year of the Rabbit).

The ‘Evidence of a Struggle’ album is out now and is available via Spotify, Apple Music and Bandcamp.

All music written by William P C Simmons V (aka Rev. Billy)
Performed by William P C Simmons V (aka Rev. Billy)
Produced by Sanford Parker
Loveless Publishing ASCAP
Video by John Airo

1 Sal-E
2 Do’Oa
3 Alans Song
4 Seize
5 The Build
6 Bisquee
7 Casting
8 Twins
9 The First Fight
10 Bassakards
12 Tensioned
13 Keep It