Austin-based rock duo The Caughtery presents their debut Self-Titled EP, released on July 15. Mixed by the legendary Tim Palmer (Robert Plant, Ozzy Osbourne, Tin Machine, The Mission, HIM, U2, Pearl Jam), who jointly produced it together with David Gayler, this EP was recorded by Lee Jackson at Studio71West near Austin. Tim Palmer also contributes guitar on this debut single.

The Caughtery is long-time Austin music veterans Lisa Tingle and David Gayler, whose debut effort is a powerful contemporary rock offering, influenced by musical threads running from the 60s through 00s, presents a series of “musical paintings”, expressing the pressure and fragility of the human state over the last two years.

This EP features contributions by Ricky Phillips (of Styx and previously with Coverdale/Page, Bad English, The Babys, Angel), bassist Brian Lippman and drummer Tom Brechtlein, who has performed with Chick Corea, Kenny Loggins, Eric Johnson, Robben Ford, Al DiMeola, Jean-Luc Ponty and Rickie Lee Jones.

“After two years of being sequestered, we are finally able to release our 5-song EP to the world. With a common thread throughout the EP and the support from our fellow musicians, each song has its own musical place and we hope you enjoy listening to them,” says David Gayler.

Ahead of their new Americana-rock focus track ’99MPH’, the duo teased two powerhouse singles – ‘Fragile’ and ‘The Uninvited’.

“The song 99MPH is about how you can control love just about as well as you can control the weather… YOU CAN’T! And how the one you fall in love with can affect you in a multitude of unexpected ways… Often times you are like a ship tossed about on the ocean, in a hurricane,” says Lisa Tingle.

Two musical soul-searchers originally hailing from opposite coasts, Tingle and Gayler both grew up in musical families. Lisa and David’s shared diverse musical loves (rock, indie, fusion, jazz, blues and R&B) sparked a genuine connection, their mutual addiction for creating unique music ultimately moving their storytelling note by note.

The duo originated in 2020, when David called Lisa to record a song that fit her vibe. What started out as a one-off collaboration ultimately turned into a full EP of material under the name The Caughtery. On this debut EP, Lisa’s lyrics explore such themes as relationships, new and old, the passing of friends and the state of our world today.

Described as a mix of Robert Plant, Janis Joplin and Aretha Franklin, Tingle has received multiple honors at the Austin Music Awards (Female Vocalist of the Year, Band of the Year, Best Song, Musician of the Year, Album of the Year0. She’s also toured and performed with many legends, including Etta James, Stevie Ray Vaughan’s Double Trouble, Eric Johnson, Stephen Bruton, Monte Montgomery and Marcia Ball.

Launching her music career in LA, gigging and working in publishing to record songs submitted to the likes of Tina Turner and Dolly Parton, she formed the band Black Pearl upon moving to Texas, signing with Capitol Records. She again worked in publishing, singing for TV and radio, films and songwriters, and landing placements on such shows as ‘Beverly Hills 90210’ and ‘Melrose Place’. She contributed to several soundtracks with Ray Benson, including Jean-Claude Van Damme’s ‘Universal Soldier’, followed by work on ‘Miss Congeniality’ and ‘Spy Kids 3’. She’s released six solo albums to wide acclaim and ample international airplay, including on BBC Radio.

David Gayler is a multi-instrumentalist, producer, songwriter and studio owner based in Spicewood, Texas. Having moved here from New York in the mid-80s, Gayler has been in various bands over the years, opening for such notable artists as The Romantics, Charlie Sexton and Jerry Jeff Walker, and was also a member of the Party Band during MTVs journey down to Texas in the late 1980s

As of June 17, ‘The Uninvited’ single is available everywhere digitally, including such platforms as Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon. The full self-titled EP will be released on July 15.

01.99 MPH
02.Lockey Came to Play
05:The Uninvited

Written by David Gayler and Lisa Tingle
Produced by David Gayler and Tim Palmer
Recorded at Studio71West near Austin, Texas
Recording Engineer: David Gayler
Mixed by Tim Palmer
Mastered by James Bacon
Lisa Tingle – Vocals
David Gayler – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Ricky Phillips – Bass Guitar
Tom Brechtlein – Drums
Cover artwork by McKenna Applewhite

‘The Caughtery’ EP order